Nechstar has affiliate partnerships (including Amazon). These do not influence editorial content, though we may earn commissions for purchases using our links. Learn more

Since launching in 2009, WhatsApp has become the most popular messaging application in the world.

Easy to use, intuitive, free. That’s WhatsApp.

More than 2 billion people are using this service each day.

WhatsApp doesn’t require a username or email, it identifies users by their phone number. In other words, anyone who has your phone number and installed WhatsApp can message you.

On one side, this method comes handy when only people with your number can message you, on the other side, it may lead to unwanted messages in an inappropriate time.

Fortunately, there is a way to keep these messages under control. WhatsApp gives you two simple options: mute and block. Each is used to restrict messages but in slightly different ways.

So what’s the difference between muting and blocking someone on WhatsApp? Here is all you need to know.

What Does Block Mean on WhatsApp?

Blocking someone on WhatsApp means that you won’t see any message from the person you blocked, at all. You won’t get any type of notifications, you won’t see their profile picture, any new picture or status.

Important: If the blocked contact tries to call you, WhatsApp will not allow it. The blocked person also won’t be able to see if you are online or last seen info.

How To Change WhatsApp Language On Android and iPhone

What Is Mute On WhatsApp?

Mute is a soft alternative to block. In simple words, when you mute person on WhatsApp, they can send you messages, see your status or last seen indicator, and your profile picture.

So, why should you mute someone on WhatsApp? It’s simple. When a muted person sent you a message, you won’t get any type of notification (no sound or vibration) However, you can see the received message only when you open WhatsApp.

Note: When you mute someone, you will still get sound or vibrate notification when the person sends a message in a group.

 

How Messages Are Handled On WhatsApp

When you message someone through WhatsApp, there is a clever feature to let you know the status of your message.

There are checkmarks that appear next to the message. Thanks to this feature, you know when your message has been sent, delivered, or even read by the receiver. However, you should understand what the amount and colors of checkmarks mean.

  • One Grey Checkmark: Your message has been successfully sent from your device.
  • Two Grey Checkmarks: Your message has been delivered, but not read.
  • Two Blue Checkmarks: Your message has been opened or read.

 

How To Block Or Unblock Someone On WhatsApp

If you need to block someone on your Android phone, follow these few steps:

Step 1
Open WhatsApp and tap the three dots icon at the top right corner.

Step 2
Go to Settings, tap on Account, and click on Privacy.

How To Block Contact On WhatsApp

Step 3
Tap on Blocked contacts.

Step 4
Now, click on the Add icon and select the contact that you want to block.

Here is how to block someone on WhatsApp

If you want to unblock that person you already blocked, follow the same steps, and choose the Unblock option.

 

How Do You Know If You’re Blocked On WhatsApp?

Blocking someone on WhatsApp is definitely the best way to prevent them from sending you unwanted photos or messages. You can also prevent that person from calling you.

But what about when you are the person who was blocked? Is there a way to know if you’re blocked on WhatsApp?

There are a couple of indicators:

  • You can no longer see a contact’s last seen or online in the chat window.
  • You don’t see updates to a contact’s profile photo.
  • Any messages sent to a contact who has blocked you will always show one check mark (message sent), and never show a second check mark (message delivered).
  • Any calls you attempt to place will not go through.

 

How To Mute or Unmute Someone On WhatsApp

If you need to mute someone on your Android phone, follow these few steps:

Step 1
Open WhatsApp.

Step 2
Long-press on the conversation with the person you want to mute.

Step 3
Tap on the crossed-out speaker icon at the top.

 

You can also mute someone from the chat interface. Just open the conversation, and tap on the three dots at the top right. Click on the Mute notification and select the duration of 8 hours, 1 week, or 1 year. Then click on OK.

Mute contact on WhatsApp

To unmute the person, follow these exact steps, and choose the unmute option.

 

Main photo by Jamie Street